Andrew & Amanda LeJeune

Growing Undivided Hearts of Love for our Savior

Going Deeper: Arising to a more biblical worldview May 13, 2009

Filed under: General — Andrew & Amanda LeJeune @ 8:32 pm

God has been reminding me through multiple ways that he wants to take me deeper.  I feel as if he’s trying to recenter me and challenge me further in how I think about certain things.  One of the ways he’s reminding me to refocus and go deeper is through this past Sunday’s  message out of 1 Peter 4 that talks about the end times.

The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray. 8Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. 9Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. 10Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. 11If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Andrew & I left very challenged and spurred on. It was good for us to get some practical insight on how to be clear minded. Our pastor says that for him to be clear minded he needs to spend time in the morning with the Lord and to memorize the Word.  Getting up with the Lord in the mornings is something I want to do and even want to want to do most times.  I do read something usually int he mornings and pray but I long to have longer times in the morning to spend with the Lord before the day.  I need more discipline and commitment to the Lord to make this happen.

On top of this encouragement, today I was reading a friends blog and a sentence caught my eye. He said, “I want to start doing the things I say I’m going to do. I’m going to meet my neighbors, I’m going to do….” It challenged me to not just have a long list of want to dos but never actually DOING them.

Again, I was reading on my friend Holly’s blog and was listening to her music and the song ” I Wanna Go Deeper” came on.

I got frustrated today listening to what’s going on in our world and thought to myself, “But what are YOU doing about it?”  I need not just say I want things to change but not be active in the community serving, loving and praying for those in my community and world.

And then again today as I was listening this morning to the Matt Friedman show he was reading off a girl’s note in his seminary class. She said, “I need God to give me a total worldview change. I can’t make that change happen. I need God to change me view.  Yesterday I spent quite a bit of time looking at new cars for when I’m able to get a new car. At the end of everything when Christ comes back it won’t matter what color my car is or what I drove. It doesn’t matter now.” And then Matt said something to the effect of “…it doesn’t matter how decorated your home is, how you succeeded in this life, etc.”  The Spirit just punched me with that one about decorating.  I’ve spent so much time dwelling on how much it would cost to get these few items, looking for cheap ways to decorate and redo.  While these aren’t bad in themselves, I get easily consumed and use too much of my time on them.  As the end draws near, I want my gaze and focus to be constantly growing in depth and insight into the real eternal things not the fleeting and material things.  O Lord help us arise and grant us a bigger deeper vision and understanding of you, of how to view the world.  I need his help to be clear minded and self controlled in this present age as I wait for my blessed hope, the appearing of my great God and Savior Jesus Christ (Titus 2:11-14).

 

Leave a Reply

