Andrew & Amanda LeJeune

Growing Undivided Hearts of Love for our Savior

Healthy Eats August 14, 2009

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Andrew & Amanda LeJeune @ 7:13 pm

healthy-diet-shakesWe didn’t eat healthy on Thursday but it was well worth it to see Greg and Libby Paul again.  They just moved to Lancaster, PA but were in town for Greg getting his PhD!  So we got to see them at C&J’s BBQ.

On the other hand,  many of my healthified friends over the years have given me some info for tips on eating healthy (Thank you college roomies! ) I appreciate friends’ enthusiasm and information and as such am seeking to put some good habits to use in cooking for my family to keep our temples in good condition all the days God has ordained for us.  I don’t think we need to fret or fear what we eat constantly.  I think too much emphasis on what food to eat/not to eat can become and idol in itself and rob you of some joy.

That being said. You’ll probably laugh at the recipe that I’m about to give you since the title in and of itself seems humorous after what I’ve just said.  These are not the BEST for you but BETTER than most maybe  🙂

My friend MacKenzie made some yummy brownies with smashed black beans.  You’d be suprised at what you can do with veggies.  I was!

Okay now for the recipe I just got from http://www.eatbetteramerica.com…

Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 c. butter, softened

1/2 c. canola oil

1 tsp. vanilla

1 egg

2 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 c. miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Beat sugars, butter, oil, vanilla, and egg with a mixer on low. Beat in flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir in chocolate chips.  Bake 7-9 minutes on greased cookie sheet 2 in. apart.

*Disclaimer: I have not yet tried this recipe. I’m just giving information 😉  BUT I will be trying this *

 

2 Responses to “Healthy Eats”

  1. MacKenzie Says:

    I’ve made a similar chocolate chip cookies recipe with whole wheat flour before and both Craig and I liked them, I’ll have to give this one a try. One thing I’ve noticed is if you use “white wheat” flour, you get the whole wheat goodness without it tasting like a brick. (White wheat is still 100% whole wheat flour but it’s just from white wheat and not the normal red wheat, you can get it at HEB and Kroger)

  2. Kyndall Says:

    I like your post Amanda. You’re funny 🙂 My body just feels so much better when I eat right, but you are right that it can become an idol and kill some joy.

    Whether you eat or drink, or what ever you do, do it all for the glory of God! 🙂

    lub.


Leave a Reply

