Andrew & Amanda LeJeune

Growing Undivided Hearts of Love for our Savior

Awaiting his return September 24, 2009

Filed under: Spiritual — Andrew & Amanda LeJeune @ 2:40 pm

Last night Andrew took me to Pizza Hut and then went to Sweet Eugenes to share a hot chocolate (Andrew’s favorite)…yumm OOO! I’ve been craving pizza like crazy lately. Not sure why, but nevertheless I got my fill last night.  It was fun.  We colored on the sheets they had on the table and then asked each other the questions that they were encouraging families to have fun with:

What if you had a million dollars, how would you spend it?

Andrews answer: probably invest like half of it in an interest bearing account and then pledge to give the interest made on it to certain organizations, pay for kids schooling, build a home.

Amanda’s answer: probably have at least one Starbucks cup of coffee & a pastry every week for the rest of my life, which we tallied up (haha. over the course of 60 years you’d spend about $21,000!), I’d invest it in interest bearing accounts, pay for my children’s college expenses if they wanted to go, build a home, travel all over the world serving and site seeing.

What if you could have any wild animal as a pet, what would it be?

Andrew’s answer: white tiger

Amanda’s answer: elephant

What if you were President for a day, what would you do?

Andrew’s answer: tour all the latest technology we have in the military, ride on Air Force One

Amanda’s answer:  slip in slide all over the White House in socks, go out on the town seeing all of the cool monuments and sites, ban abortion forever and ban debt from hereon, saying you can’t buy it if you don’t have money to pay for it (these are if I could say something and it went just because I said so).

This question Andrew made up: What if you could ask God one question and he’d answer you now?

Andrew’s answer:  How do I fellowship with the Lord in every circumstance? (like knowing how to live in freedom with him in each moment)

Amanda’s answer: When is the exact time you’re coming back?

So those were fun questions that we did.  My last answer though allowed me to see into my heart.  See I know the reason why I want to know when he’s coming back:  so I can know how I should live.  As if, if God’s not coming back till after I’m gone, I can live this way, but if God IS coming back in my time, then I need to get my act together.  It sounds awful to say it out loud, but I know my heart goes there.

So this morning I went onto BibleGateway and looked down to see the verse for the day. Hebrews 10: 35-36

35So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. 36You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.

I recently read through Hebrews 10 and surrounding areas.  When I clicked to expand the passage it says this:

32Remember those earlier days after you had received the light, when you stood your ground in a great contest in the face of suffering. 33Sometimes you were publicly exposed to insult and persecution; at other times you stood side by side with those who were so treated. 34You sympathized with those in prison and joyfully accepted the confiscation of your property, because you knew that you yourselves had better and lasting possessions.

35So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. 36You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. 37For in just a very little while,
He who is coming will come and will not delay.
38But my righteous one[f] will live by faith.
And if he shrinks back,
I will not be pleased with him.”[g] 39But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved.

It says in the amplified bible vs. 37: For still a little while (a very little while), and the Coming One will come and He will not delay.  The point being, he’s coming soon.  This was written a long time ago too and it was said that he’s coming soon.  I need to be reminded that God’s time is not our time.  He’s not bound by years, seconds, months.

This passage tells me the truth and tells me where to be setting my heart.  He is coming soon BUT the righteous live by faith.  We need to persevere in awaiting his return and as the amplified says: “My righteous servant shall live by his conviction respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, and holy fervor born of faith and conjoined with it.”  This servant will stand firm to the end and not shrink back and will be saved.

I’m reminded to not shrink back; to live by faith and to persevere in living well to be one day rewarded.  Those who shrink back and don’t live as awaiting the soon coming of Christ do not please God.  It pleases him for us to endure to the end in faith and we will be saved.

Wanted to share those thoughts. Any thoughts on this?  Have you ever wrestled with this? Or how has God taught you about his coming and how we are to live in light of this?

 

3 Responses to “Awaiting his return”

  1. MacKenzie Says:

    I’ve had similar thoughts that disturb me…like I know there have been points in my life when the idea of God coming back soon (as in within the next few months/year) is sad to me because I like where my life is and I don’t want to miss certain experiences. Then I realize that is so awful. I want to love my life and life it fully but I want to live it fully FOR GOD and if I am so engrossed in the world I don’t want God, I am not where I should be and something needs to change in my heart.

  2. Crazy you talk about this. It was the topic for HG last night, having an eternal mindset. Here are a few verses we talked about:

    Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:2

    If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. Luke 9:23

    Renewing of our mind and daily diving into his word is so significant for having an eternal mindset. There is so much life in living for Christ day by day. I love that this is how we are told to pray…

    Pray, then, in this way:
    Our Father who is in heaven,
    Hallowed be Your name.
    Your kingdom come
    Your will be done,
    On earth as it is in heaven.

    his kingdom to come, and his will to be done on earth as it is in heaven! totally eternal mindset!

    This is so hard though sometimes!! Ah it makes me so frustrated that the world can consume so much of us! it is good to check ourselves with this – – I was convicted to. Living for God is not a burden..not easy, but man is it sooo good.

    Good post Amanda! Thanks for your humble and truth-filled words.

  3. Robert Says:

    Thanks for your honesty, and I’m sure many people have that attitude–though few would admit it. And it’s not the right way to live.

    John Wesley was asked once how he would spend a particular day if he knew the Lord was coming back that day. His answer was, “Exactly as I had planned to spend it anyway.” That is living in the light of eternity. That is how the Bible instructs us to live (I Jn. 3:2-3).


Leave a Reply

