Andrew & Amanda LeJeune

Growing Undivided Hearts of Love for our Savior

Overwhelmed by the spirit September 28, 2009

Filed under: Spiritual — Andrew & Amanda LeJeune @ 6:36 pm

Yesterday I was overwhelmed by God’s spirit in such a deep way.  Have you ever been in worship and then feel as if you have to just fall down?  That you feel the weight of God that you almost can’t stand?

Yesterday was such a sweet one for me.  I was wide awake at 7am on Sunday and got to spend few hours with the Lord reading lots in the word.  Then when I got to church we sang African style worship songs! It was so fun.  And then we sang a song that I just loved.  We’ve sang it before but yesterday it ministered to me so much.  The song was written by Aaron Strumpel called “Twenty Three.”  As God continues to teach me, I was able to this song truthfully. My eyes flooded with tears,  I was heaving and could barely sing and kept crying out to God.  It was so intimate and I loved meeting with God.  He is so near.  I pray I don’t miss him. Here are the lyrics:

Arise, O Lord, lift up your eyes

Don’t forget I’m helpless

Arise, O Lord, lift up your eyes

Don’t forget I’m helpless

Oh you lead me to waters and pastures so green

Oh you pour out your oil and choose goodness and mercy for me

No I will not be in want

No I will not be in want

You are with me

I will not fear

You comfort me

I will not fear

Everything I’ve ever wanted I have found in you

Everything I’ve ever wanted I have found in you

I could run away

You would never leave

You will always stay right by my side

The italicized parts are the ones that ministered to me the most.  I was overwhelmed by G0d’s love and his choosing me and how near he is to, how much I need him, and how he is the satisfaction of all things my soul longs for.

EVERYTHING I HAVE EVER WANTED I HAVE FOUND IN YOU!! Singing this brings me to tears.  I love to meditate on this truth.

If you’ve never heard it before, you can listen here.

 

Leave a Reply

